The Grand

The Grand sets 50 shows for 2023-24 season

Betsy PriceCulture, Headlines

The Grand

The Grand’s 2023-25 season will include an appearance by actor Alan Cummings and songstress Sutton Foster.

Old-school Motown, Disney costumes, favorite comedians, and world music are among the shows that the Grand will bring to Wilmington for its 2023-24 season.

The season will start Sept. 6 with Byrds co-founder and acclaimed guitarist Roger McGuinn.

Also set to appear are Lyle Lovett and John Hiatt Together on Stage Oct. 5; Disney Junior and Marvel characters Sept. 26 in Disney Junior Live On Tour: Costume Palooza!; comedians Tig Notaro Sept. 17, David Sedaris April 5, and Lewis Black May 2; the Pedrito Martinez Group Sept. 29, and Tablao Flamenco Sept. 30; Alan Cumming Oct. 28; and Sutton Foster March 2.

“There is absolutely something for everyone‚ÄĚ says Pamelyn Manocchio, executive director. ‚ÄúIt is our sincere hope that we continue the rich history of this historic building as Delaware‚Äôs home for the performing arts and place to create lasting memories.‚ÄĚ

The performing arts center also plans an announcement later this summer about The Grand’s 47th annual Grand Gala. It will feature the Commodores and a return to the Hotel Du Pont fo the Ultimate After Party.

The Grand also wll party with the Christina Cultural Arts Center to celebrate the music and culture of the community with the annual Soul of the City¬†Festival Sept. 16¬† from noon until 4 This year’s festival will celebrate unique Wilmington‚Äôs arts organizations while highlighting the 50th¬†anniversary of Hip Hop.

The hip hop continues on Sept. 22 at Frawley Stadium with the 50th Anniversary of Hip Hop Concert featuring Rick Ross, 2 Chainz, Fat Joe, Big Daddy Kane, Doug E Fresh, EPMD, Rakim and Slick Rick.

Universal Attractions Agency’s Co-Owner Jeff Epstein, who conceived the collaboration with Doug E. Fresh, says the concert is unprecedented.

‚ÄúTo have such an elite group of Hip Hop icons from the golden era coming together to celebrate 50 years of Hip Hop music this way‚Ķ it‚Äôs truly mind blowing,” he said.

Tickets are now on sale to the general public and can be purchased online at TheGrandWilmington.org or by calling 302-652-5577 or 302-888-0200.  The fastest and easiest way to guarantee the best seats is to purchase online.

The Grand offers discounts for purchasing multiple shows. Buying three will save you 10% per ticket and buying 6 will save you 20% per ticket and give you free parking vouchers as well as a dining discount card.

Up Market Street, the Grand’s Broadway in Wilmington series will take place at The Playhouse on Rodney Square. It opens in October with “Pretty Woman: The Musical” Oct. 13-15. From March 7-10, see “On Your Feet!” featuring the lives and music of Emilio and Gloria Estefan. “Come From Away,” an uplifting story about the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks, plays April 19-21. “Little Women” runs May 9-1; “Million Dollar Quartet Christmas” will play Nov 17-19 and “Annie” will play Jan. 5-7.

The Grand presents

Wednesday, September 6, 2023 ‚ÄstRoger McGuinn¬†(the baby grand)

Sunday, September 17, 2023 ‚ÄstTig Notaro: Hello Again¬†(Copeland Hall)

Wednesday, September 20, 2023 ‚ÄstDirect from Sweden The Music of ABBA(Copeland Hall)

Thursday, September 21, 2023 ‚ÄstRyan Adams¬†(Copeland Hall)

Friday, September 22, 2023 ‚ÄstHip Hop 50th Anniversary Concert¬†(Frawley Stadium)

Tuesday, September 26, 2023 ‚ÄstDisney Junior Live On Tour: Costume Palooza¬†(The Playhouse)

Friday, September 29, 2023 ‚ÄstPedrito Martinez Group¬†(the baby grand)

Saturday, September 30, 2023 ‚ÄstTablao Flamenco¬†(the baby grand)

Thursday, October 5, 2023 ‚ÄstPreacher Lawson¬†(the baby grand)

Thursday, October 5, 2023 ‚ÄstLyle Lovett and John Hiatt Together on Stage¬†(Copeland Hall)

Friday, October 6, 2023 ‚ÄstPinky Patel: New Crown, Who Dhis?¬†(the baby grand)

Saturday, October 7, 2023 ‚ÄstBob Mould¬†(the baby grand)

Sunday, October 8, 2023 ‚ÄstAn Evening with Kenny Wayne Shepherd¬†(Copeland Hall)

Sunday, October 8, 2023 ‚ÄstAl Stewart & The Empty Pockets¬†(the baby grand)

Saturday, October 28, 2023 ‚ÄstAlan Cumming Is Not Acting His Age¬†(The Playhouse)

Wednesday, November 1, 2023 ‚ÄstPink Martini featuring China Forbes¬†(Copeland Hall)

Thursday, November 2, 2023 ‚ÄstSons of Serendip¬†(Copeland Hall)

Saturday, November 4, 2023 ‚ÄstThe Moth – True Stories Told Live¬†(Copeland Hall)

Thursday, November 9, 2023 ‚ÄstMasters of Illusion¬†(The Playhouse)

Friday, November 10, 2023 ‚ÄstDeadgrass¬†(the baby grand)

Saturday, November 11, 2023 ‚ÄstMenopause The Musical ¬ģ¬†(The Playhouse)

Saturday, November 11, 2023 ‚ÄstThe Rock Orchestra plays David Bowie¬†(Copeland Hall)

Saturday, November 18, 2023 ‚ÄstGraham Nash – Sixty Years of Songs and Stories¬†(Copeland Hall)

Friday, November 24, 2023 ‚ÄstThe Underwater Bubble Show¬†(The Playhouse)

Thursday, November 30, 2023 ‚ÄstTab Benoit & The Dirty Dozen Brass Band¬†(Copeland Hall)

Thursday, December 7, 2023 ‚ÄstWatchhouse¬†(Copeland Hall)

Saturday, December 9, 2023 ‚ÄstThe World Famous Glenn Miller Orchestra¬†(Copeland Hall)

Sunday, December 10, 2023 ‚ÄstAn Evening with Judy Collins – Holidays & Hits¬†(Copeland Hall)

Monday, December 18, 2023 ‚ÄstA Christmas Carol¬†(The Playhouse)

Thursday, January 11, 2024 ‚ÄstThe Greatest Love of All: A Tribute to Whitney Houston Starring Belinda Davids (Not Associated with the Estate of Whitney Houston)¬†(Copeland Hall)

Thursday, January 25, 2024 ‚ÄstErth’s Dinosaur Zoo Live¬†(Copeland Hall)

Saturday, February 17, 2024 ‚ÄstThe Rock Orchestra plays Bruce Springsteen¬†(Copeland Hall)

Saturday, March 2, 2024 ‚ÄstThe Joni Project – a Tribute to Joni Mitchell

Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Court and Spark  (the baby grand)

Saturday, March 2, 2024 ‚ÄstAn Evening with Sutton Foster¬†(The Playhouse)

Wednesday, March 13, 2024 ‚ÄstDaniel Tiger‚Äôs Neighborhood LIVE¬†(Copeland Hall)

Saturday, March 16, 2024 ‚ÄstThe Irish Comedy Tour¬†(the baby grand)

Sunday, March 24, 2024 ‚ÄstGaelic Storm and High Kings¬†(Copeland Hall)

Wednesday, April 3, 2024 ‚ÄstOne Night of Queen Performed by Gary Mullen and The Works¬†(Copeland Hall)

Friday, April 5, 2024 ‚ÄstAn Evening with David Sedaris¬†(Copeland Hall)

Saturday, April 13, 2024 ‚ÄstDuPont Brass¬†(the baby grand)

Friday, April 26, 2024 ‚ÄstAn Evening with Tom Rush accompanied by Matt Nakoa¬†(the baby grand)

Thursday, May 2, 2024 ‚ÄstLewis Black Live¬†(Copeland Hall)

Saturday, May 4, 2024 ‚ÄstThe Rock Orchestra plays Fleetwood Mac (including “Rumours” and more)¬† (Copeland Hall)

Thursday, May 9, 2024 ‚ÄstThe Temptations and the Four Tops¬†(Copeland Hall)

Sunday, May 19, 2024 ‚ÄstAn Intimate Evening with David Foster and Katharine McPhee¬†(The Playhouse)

Tuesday, June 4, 2024 ‚Äď Shrek-The Musical¬†(The Playhouse)

Share this Post