Sanford baseball Brady Fox left and Sussex Tech Jeremy Vest were voted co player of the year by the DBCA. Photos courtesy of Sanford Baseball and Dan Cook of the Gazette

Vest & Fox voted co-players of the year by DBCA 

Nick HallidayHeadlines, Sports

  Sussex Tech‚Äôs Jeremy Vest and Sanford Brady Fox were voted as co-players of the year by the Delaware Baseball Coaches Association (DBCA). The Delaware Baseball Coaches Association (DBCA) all state team is voted upon by the head coaches from around the state.¬†   Tech‚Äôs Vest went undefeated on the season with a perfect 7-0 record. In 51.2 innings pitched …

Saint Elizabeth basketball Aiden Tobiason has been selected as the 2023 24 Delaware High School Basketball Players of the Year by the DSBA photo courtesy of Ben Fulton

Tobiason and Banks are named DSBA players of the year

Nick HallidayHeadlines, Sports

Saint Elizabeth senior Aiden Tobiason and Ursuline freshman Jezelle ‚ÄúGG‚ÄĚ Banks have been selected as the 2023-24 Delaware High School Basketball Players of the Year by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association (DSBA). Tobiason led the Vikings in scoring with 432 points on the season in which he averaged 18 points a game. The Vikings went 19-1 in the regular …


Alleyne, Miller and LaMons named players of the year 

Nick HallidayHeadlines, Sports

  Brian (BJ) Alleyne, Jordan Miller, and RahShad LaMons are named players for the year in their respective divisions. They all have a couple things in common as they are all running backs and they all led their teams to a state championship.¬† Alleyne from Salesianum was named 3A player of the year while Miller from Caravel was named 2A, …

DIFCA Logo with trophies

DIFCA announces 2022 All-Class football teams

Glenn FrazerSports

The Delaware Interscholastic Football Coaches Association announced this year’s All-Class football teams for the three classifications at a meeting in Dover today. Class 1A was dominated by Laurel and St. Elizabeth, the two teams that will play for the State Title Saturday. The Bulldogs placed 11 players on the 1st team, while the Vikings had 5 players named to the …

Maddie Schepers Saint Marks photo courtesy of Saint Marks copy

Saint Mark’s Scheppers Girls Soccer Player of the Year

Nick HallidayHeadlines, Sports

(Wilmington, DE) Saint Mark‚Äôs High School is pleased to announce that Maddie Schepers ‚Äô22 was recently named the Gatorade Delaware Girls Soccer Player of the Year.¬† The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated both on and off the field, distinguishes Schepers as Delaware‚Äôs best high school girls …

Awtrymarshall22 2net

Marshall Awtry named CACC baseball player of the year

Nick HallidaySports

  Goldey-Beacom junior catcher¬†Marshall Awtry¬†(Hockessin, DE), who has been one of the area’s most dominant baseball players both from an offensive and defensive standpoint, was named the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference Player of the Year as part of five yearly awards for the team. In addition to Awtry also getting first team all-league, junior shortstop¬†Mason Maxwell¬†(Newfield, NJ) was picked first …

Girls soccer All-State teams announced; Caravel’s St. Leger is player of year

Nick HallidayHeadlines, Sports

  Caitlin St. Leger Caravel Academy Girls Soccer Player of the Year photo courtesy of Caravel Academy Soccer   Girls Soccer Division I First Team All State  Olivia Stephen Appoquinimink 12 Alani Lawrence Appoquinimink 12 Gabrielle Davis Caesar Rodney 11 Jada McCullough Caesar Rodney 12 Ryan Mundy Charter Wilm. 11 Corinne Arnold Charter Wilm. 12 Gabby Riley Middletown 9 Tyla …