Senate to reconvene to consider nominations Wednesday, redistricting Nov. 1

Charlie MegginsonGovernment, Headlines

241175538 10225697110764428 2080811075295999127 n

The Delaware Senate will go into special session Wednesday to consider Gov. John Carney’s nominations, and Nov. 1 to look at draft redistricting maps. Photo by Brian K. Leonard.


The Delaware Senate has been called on by the governor to return to Dover Wednesday for a special session.

Gov. John Carney called the one-day session to have the Senate vote on the confirmation of nine gubernatorial nominees.

The Senate’s regularly scheduled session runs from mid-January until June 30, but the body can be called to return for special sessions during their extended recess. 

At least 25 seats will be made available for members of the public to attend, according to a press release from the Senate Democratic Caucus.

The session day will begin at 12 p.m. when the Senate Executive Committee will meet to consider the nominees and make recommendations to the full Senate, which will convene at 2 p.m. 

Members of the public will be admitted at 1:30 p.m. and must wear masks inside Legislative Hall at all times when in public areas of the building. 

The committee hearing and Senate session will be streamed live on the General Assembly website.

The Senate will consider the following nominees:

  • Martin O’Connor, who is nominated to fill a New Castle County Superior Court Commissioner seat left vacant by the appointment of Katharine Mayer to the Court of Common Pleas; 
  • Theresa Hayes, who is nominated to succeed retiring Sussex County Family Court Judge Kenneth Millman; 
  • Earl MacFarlane, who is nominated to fill a seat on the New Castle County Justice of the Peace bench previously held by Vincent Kowal; 
  • Kristine Kellenbenz, who is nominated to succeed retiring Sussex County Justice of the Peace magistrate Nicholas Mirro; 
  • Taylor Oliphant, who is nominated to fill the Town of Laurel Alderman position previously held by Kelly Pettyjohn; 
  • Monica Alvarez, who is nominated to fill a seat on the State Board of Elections previously held by Cimone Phillpots; 
  • Earl Jeter, who is nominated to fill a seat on the Delaware Lottery Commission previously held by George Luff; 
  • Theodore Becker, who is nominated to fill a seat on the Delaware River & Bay Authority previously held by James Ford; 
  • William Tobin Jr., who is nominated to fill a seat on the Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board previously held by Sarah Buttner. 

The list does not include Dr. Mark Holodick, whom Carney said Tuesday he was nominating for secretary of the Delaware Department of Education to replace Dr. Susan Bunting.

At 4 p.m., the Delaware Women’s Suffrage Centennial Committee will dedicate a monument on the capitol grounds to commemorate the role of Delaware women in the long struggle for women’s suffrage. 

The Senate will reconvene in another special session on Nov. 1 to consider a final redistricting bill detailing the boundaries of all 62 legislative districts.  See draft maps here

Share this Post