Delaware Women's Hall of Fame

5 selected for Delaware Women’s Hall of Fame

Staff WriterCulture, Headlines

Delaware Women's Hall of Fame

Patricia Dailey Lewis; Bonnie Meszaros; Paulette Sullivan Moore; Leslie Newman; and Lynn Snyder-Mackler

An advocate fighting child abuse, an economist who pushes financial education, Delaware’s first Black   female lawyer, the former head of the state’s Children’s And Families program and a physical therapist who helped make the University of Delaware’s program No. 1 in the nation will be inducted into the Delaware Women’s Hall of Fame.

Gov. John Carney announced the selections Monday:

  • Patricia Dailey Lewis, current chief executive officer of the Beau Biden Foundatio and former deputy attorney general with the Delaware Department of Justice.
  • Bonnie Meszaros, assistant professor of economics at the University of Delaware, associate director of the UD Center for Economics Education and Entrepreneurship and a champion for personal finance education in Delaware schools.
  • Paulette Sullivan Moore, Delaware’s first African American female lawyer, focusing largely on the needs of Domestic Violence victims and survivors. She also was the New Castle County Recorder of Deeds from 1990 – 1994.
  • Leslie Newman, former CEO of Children and Families First. She also served as chairperson for the Delaware Community Foundation’s COVID-19 grant award committee.
  • Lynn Snyder-Mackler, a physical therapist and sports medicine researcher who helped make UD’s Physical Therapy Graduate Program the top ranked program in the country.

They were chosen from 50 applications received by the Office of Women’s Advancement and Advocacy and the Delaware Women’s Hall of Fame Committee.

“These remarkable women are dedicated to our community and I’m honored to recognize their hard work,” Carney said in a press release. “These honorees serve as an inspiration for all Delawareans.”

The Hall of Fame of Delaware Women was established in 1981. Members represent a variety of professional fields and backgrounds, including artists, athletes, community advocates, military personnel, public servants, and scientists. Nominees are only eligible if they have made an important and lasting impact upon the lives of Delawareans and resided in the state for at least 10 years.

Inductees will be recognized at an Oct. 4, 2023 ceremony.

See their full biographies here.


Share this Post