CCGM Announces “Ten of the Best” Awards

33By Terry Rogers

Volunteers and member gathered at the Milford Senior Center on Thursday, April 14 to honor the Chamber of Commerce of Greater Milford’s “Ten of the Best” Award recipients. The evening was emceed by Dana McDonald of Cool 101.3. The night began with recognition of the committee who put together the event, led by Cheryl Doucette who was chairperson of the awards banquet for 2016.

The first award of the evening was presented to Frank Payton who was crowned the Marvelous Man of Milford at the 2015 Girls Night Out event. Mr. Payton earned $2,700 at the event, raising more than any other contestants who participated.

Ruth Abbate was named Board Member of the Year for her outstanding service to the chamber. Ms. Abbate collected money for the fireworks held the first night of the Riverwalk Committee, served as chairperson of the Ambassador Committee, as a member of the Riverwalk Committee and in many other functions for the chamber.

This year’s Chairperson of the Year was Angela Dorey, outgoing president of the Chamber. Ms. Dorey has been the chairperson of the Riverwalk Freedom Festival Committee for the past several years. The committee works all year to put on the festival, which is the largest outdoor festival in the area.

The Volunteer of the Award was presented to Rachel Workman, who serves on several committees with the chamber. Ms. Workman is responsible for the Kids Corner at the Riverwalk Freedom Festival, working to be sure that children who come to the event are entertained. She also serves on the Ambassador Committee, which she chaired for several years.

Alena Judd was named the Youth Volunteer of the Year. Ms. Judd assisted committees with stuffing gift bags for several events as well as volunteering to work at several events throughout the year. According to Ms. Dorey, Ms. Judd had been a significant help throughout the year, demonstrating how volunteering can begin early in life.

The Fred Rohm Memorial Award is in honor of Fred Rohm, who served as president of the chamber in 2010. It was Mr. Rohm’s idea to hold an award’s banquet that would recognize the volunteers that keep the chamber running throughout the year. After his death in 2013, an award was established in his honor with a recipient chosen by the president.

“Ten years ago, the recipient of this award battled and beat breast cancer,” Ms. Dorey, who presented the award, said. “This battle changed Cheryl Doucette’s life and she came to the Chamber as the Outreach Education Manager for the Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition. She now runs her own consulting firm and is the matriarch of her family. I am honored to present her with this award for all she does for the chamber.”

The Milford Lions Club, established in 1946, was given the Non-Profit of the Year Award and Extreme Graphics, whose owner has more than 30 years’ experience, was presented with the Small Business of the Year Award. Seawatch, which is the largest processor of clams in the world, according to Councilman Doug Morrow, was presented with the Large Business of the Year award. The New Business of the Year Award was presented to Sam’s Club. Although Sam’s Club has been in the area for many years, they just recently joined the Chamber of Commerce for Greater Milford.

The Citizen of the Year Award was presented to Roy Rigby for the countless hours he spends working with the youth of the community. He has been a coach for more than 26 years and has led Milford to many wrestling titles.

“One of the responses we received from an individual who voted for Mr. Rigby says it all,” read Mr. MacDonald. “It says ‘I will forever be grateful for the impact he had on me as a child, the impact he had on me as a coach and the impact he has on me now as a friend.’”

Want to Know How to Advertise on Delaware Live?

Want to Know How to Advertise on Delaware Live?