Government & Politics Headlines

Council Ward 1 Election Set, April 23

33Staff Report

On Friday, February 26 the City of Milford announced that there will be two candidates running for the 1st Ward Council Seat, with the election being held on Saturday, April 23 between the hours of noon and 8pm at Milford City Hall at 201 S Walnut Street. Voting will not take place in the Second, Third and Fourth Wards due to uncontested races. Arthur J. Campbell and Anne L. Villalobos have filed their nomination petitions to run for the Office of City Council – First Ward.

Arthur Campbell worked for Prescott Ball & Turben brokerage company for 12 years on Wall Street. He began his corporate career with Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Corporation and L’oreal/Lancome Corporation from which he retired as Executive Director of Logistics and Labor relations. Arthur and his wife Ronnie moved to Milford almost 10 years ago from the North Jersey, New York area. Campbell has been an active member of the Milford Lions for the past 8 years. He is presently the Chairman of the City of Milford Planning and Zoning Commission and has been a Commissioner for six years. He is also the Vice President of the Meadows of Shawnee Homeowners’ Association. Presently, Campbell is employed by the Milford Board of Education as a substitute teacher for the Milford Academy and Milford High School.

Anne Villalobos was born and raised in Bridgeville, DE and is a Woodbridge High School graduate. She graduated Cum Laude from Frankford Hospital School of Nursing/Penn State University with an RN diploma and Associate degree in Arts, Letters, and Sciences in 2001. Villalobos worked at Temple University Hospital for a short time before moving back to Sussex County with her husband to raise their family. The last 14 years she has been working at Beebe Healthcare, initially on their progressive care unit. Villalobos has also worked at Beebe’s surgery center and is currently in their noninvasive cardiology department.  Her husband, Osiel, and she have been married for 14 years, the last eight of which they have lived in Milford. Their two children, Aiden (13) and Avery (10), both attend school in the Milford School District.

The Ward I election will be held on Saturday, April 23 between the hours of noon and 8pm at Milford City Hall at 201 S Walnut Street. Any qualified elector, duly registered, in the first ward, may cast their vote on election day or by absentee ballot. City officials ask that individuals please note that having registered through the State of Delaware, Kent County or Sussex County Department of Elections does not qualify individuals to vote in a City of Milford Election. To be eligible, individuals must have registered at Milford City Office. New registrations are also accepted from 8 am until 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday throughout the year at Milford City Hall. Applicants are required to present verification of identity and residency and/or proof of ownership of property. The deadline for registering to vote in the 2016 City Election is Thursday, March 24, 2016 at 4:30 pm.

Anyone wishing to vote by absentee ballot can be placed on a list by calling the City Clerk’s Office at City Hall. Non-Resident Property Owners who are Registered to Vote in the City of Milford and own property in more than one ward, must declare on or before Tuesday, February 23, 2016 at 4:30 pm, the ward they wish to vote in on the day of the election. Individuals can contact City Hall at 302-424-3712 with questions or to verify voting status in the City of Milford. Special voter Registration times for unregistered persons have been scheduled at Milford City Hall at 201 South Walnut Street, Milford, Delaware on
Thursday, February 18, from 4:30 pm to 8 pm; Wednesday, March 9, from 4:30 p.m. to 8 pm; and Saturday, March 19, from 10 am to 2 pm.

The following candidate has submitted his nominating petition to run for the Office of Mayor: Bryan W. Shupe. The following candidates have submitted their nominating petitions to run for the Office of City Council: Lisa Ingram Peel, Second Ward Council Seat; Owen S. Brooks, Jr., Third Ward Council Seat; Katrina J. Wilson, Fourth Ward Council Set. There being only one candidate for the Office of Mayor and Office of City Council in Ward Two, Ward Three and Ward Four, those candidates are entitled to assume office without a formal election.

Want to Know How to Advertise on Delaware Live?

Want to Know How to Advertise on Delaware Live?