The plethora of outdoor summer concerts in Delaware begin in June. (Photo from Delaware State Parks)

165 free outdoor concerts to jam out this summer in Delaware

Jarek RutzHeadlines, Culture

The plethora of outdoor summer concerts in Delaware begin in June. (Photo from Delaware State Parks)

The plethora of outdoor summer concerts in Delaware begin in June. (Photo from Delaware State Parks)

It’s that time of year again – dust off the lawn chairs, shake out the blankets and get ready to jam out on summer nights in Delaware.

The annual outdoor concert series is back at multiple locations throughout the state, and all shows are free to attend for families planning night-outs on a budget.Β 

The largest summer concert series is presented by Delaware State Parks, which has 81 in the next few months.

Music ranges from oldies to big band to classic rock to country to indie – and anything in between.

Click on the park names below to find directions, parking and other information for each.Β 

Here are this year’s summer outdoor concerts at Delaware Parks:Β 

Trap Pond State Park

Bellevue State Park

  • Sunday, June 9 at 6:30 p.m. – Diamond State Concert Band (Marches, Showtunes and Concert Band Repertoire)Β 
  • Thursday, June 13 at 6:30 p.m. – Ants on A Log (Music for children)
  • Sunday, June 16 at 6:30 p.m. – Revolution Heroes (Blues/Rock)
  • Thursday, June 20 at 6:30 p.m. – Mystic Warriors (World Instrumental Music)
  • Sunday, June 23 at 6:30 p.m. – The Launch (Rock)
  • Thursday, June 27 at 6:30 p.m. – Mother’s Highway Junction (Original Americana)
  • Sunday, June 30 at 6:30 p.m. – The Big House Band (Party Band (soul, funk, rock, motown, pop, country))
  • Sunday, July 7 at 6:30 p.m. – Basic Cable (80’s Pop)
  • Thursday, July 11 at 6 p.m. – Jimmy & The Parrots (Jimmy Buffet Tribute (Tropical Rock))
  • Sunday, July 14 at 6:30 p.m. – Flatland Drive (Bluegrass)
  • Thursday, July 18 at 6:30 p.m. – The Core (Eric Clapton tribute)
  • Sunday, July 21 at 6:30 p.m. – The Malarkey Brothers (Irish Music, Celtic Rock, American favorites)
  • Thursday, July 25 at 6:30 p.m. – Seven Rings (Irish Music)
  • Sunday, July 28 at 6:30 p.m. – Spokey Speaky (Roots Reggae)
  • Thursday, Aug. 1 at 6:30 p.m. – John Flynn (Folk Singer/Songwriter)
  • Sunday, Aug. 4 at 6:30 p.m. – The Brandywine Riders (Country/Folk/Jazz)
  • Sunday, Aug.11 at 6:30 p.m. – Exit 93 (Classic Rock, R&B and Dance music)
  • Thursday, Aug. 15 at 6:30 p.m. – Gunpowder Lane (American Roots/Americana, Bluegrass and Folk)
  • Sunday, Aug. 18 at 6:30 p.m. – Chorduroy (Rock, Blues and Soul)
  • Thursday, Aug. 22 at 6:30 p.m. – Charlie and the Cooltones (Classic Rock, Funk, Soul, Blues)Β 
  • Sunday, Aug. 25 at 6 p.m. – The Newspaper Taxis (Beatles Tribute Band)
  • Thursday, Aug. 29 at 6:30 p.m. – The Navy Cruisers (Jazz standards, Rhythm & Blues, Classic Rock, Contemporary and Pop)

Wilmington State Parks

White Clay Creek State Park

  • Wednesday, June 12 at 6:30 p.m. – Newark Community Band (Marches, Broadway shows, Patriotic songs, Classic Music)
  • Wednesday, June 19 at 6:30 p.m. – Exit 93 (Classic Rock, Blues, R&B)
  • Wednesday, June 26 at 6:30 p.m. – Magical Mystery Tour (Beatles Tribute)Β 
  • Wednesday, July 3 at 6:30 p.m. – The Jimmies (80s Tribute)
  • Wednesday, July 10 at 6:30 p.m. – 3 Hour Tour (Yacht Rock)
  • Wednesday, July 17 at 6:30 p.m. – Acoustically Sound (Rock and Country with Strings)
  • Wednesday, July 24 at 6:30 p.m. – Joe Baione Quartet (Jazz Vibraphonist)Β 
  • Wednesday, July 31 at 6:30 p.m. – Billy Pierce Band (Blues)
  • Wednesday, Aug. 7 at 6:30 p.m. – The Launch (Tribute to Boston, Styx and Queen)
  • Wednesday, Aug. 14 at 6:30 p.m. – Spokey Speaky (Reggae)
  • Monday, Sept. 2 at 3 p.m. – Kategory 5 (Classic and Progressive Rock)

Killens Pond State Park

Holts Landing State Park

Other concerts

  • Bethany Beach’s bandstand also has 36 outdoor concerts from June through October.

All shows start at approximately 7:30 p.m. in the summer, and 6:30 p.m. in the fall.

Bench seats are available but limited, so it’s recommended to bring a chair or blanket to sit on just in case seats are taken.Β 

Here’s this year’s schedule:

Document scaled e1717084288706

Click here for more information.

  • The City of Lewes has a concert series, with all 12 shows starting at 7 p.m. at Stango Park.

Find out who’s performing here.

The Rehoboth Beach Bandstand has 36 outdoor concerts this summer, with all shows starting at 8 p.m.

Click here to see the lineup of bands.

Festivals

  • New Castle County’s Reggae in the Park show is back for a second year on Saturday, June 15 from noon to 7 p.m.

The concert, held in Glasgow Park, is free and includes Caribbean food trucks, face painting a Children’s Zone and of course, lots of music to enjoy.

For more information, click here.
441899715 10159914555590846 3105899150855539504 n

  • Wilmington’s 11th annual Ladybug Festival is Friday, May 31 from about 4:15 p.m. to 10:15 p.m.

The women-led show takes place on the 400 and 500 blocks of Market Street, with several stages and more than 30 performers.

RELATED: Women-led Ladybug Fest welcomes international musicians for 1st time

This year’s festival is the first with international talent, with musicians from Canada, Ireland and France.

Click here to find out more.

  • The Clifford Brown Jazz Festival is the largest free, outdoor jazz music festival on the East Coast located in downtown Wilmington.

The multi-day event lasts from Wednesday, June 19 to Saturday, June 22.

For more information, click here.

  • New Castle County has outdoor concerts every Wednesday night starting June 19 and running through Aug. 7.

The shows all start at 6:30 p.m.

Click here to see who’s playing.

  • Glasgow Park, in New Castle County, has a summer concert series every Thursday starting June 20 through Aug. 15.

All shows begin at 6:30 p.m. and end around 8 p.m.

Click here for more.

Share this Post